Why You Should Love Autumn

I am a self-proclaimed autumn yuppie and a winter lover. I prefer cold to hot, jumpers to tank tops, hot coffee on a cold morning to uh, hot coffee on a hot morning (maybe coffee wasn’t the correct object to illustrate my love for the season). Hot and sunny is nice but it gets boring. Believe me, my early childhood was spent in the desert. There is something exciting about having seasons change in both subtle and dramatic ways. So in order for you to get excited about all things pumpkin spice, here is a list of reasons to why I (and you should to) love autumn.

Firstly, Autumn is the season where nature turns golden. Picturesque is a word that I would describe autumn. Striking, vivid, and colourful are just some adjectives that I use. I find trees, by themselves with sunlight streaming through their green leaves, to be amazing. Trees with hues of yellow, orange, red, and brown is beautiful enough to make me stop for a few minutes and just appreciate the work of art in front of me(honestly, there is nothing better than a forest. Can I get married in the woods in the autumn please? Is that even possible?). Autumn is when nature gets one last hurrah before winter comes in. It is a beautiful masterpiece.

Secondly, the holidays in autumn are fantastic. So I never celebrated Halloween as a kid which I can elaborate more on a future blog post (I had a weird childhood). However, whether you like Halloween or not, you cannot deny that having an excuse to buy large portions of cheap sweets is pretty great. Coming to England as a kid, I discovered Bonfire Night or Guy Fawkes Night. On the 5th of November every year, you wrap up warm, usually have a bonfire, and watch fireworks explode in the sky. It’s a causal holiday, the kind where no one celebrates on the actual day, but that is one of the reasons why I like it so much. Then there is Thanksgiving, which is one of my favourite holidays. On a superficial level, you show how thankful you are by overeating. However, it is meant to be about family and about thankful for the good things in your life.

Thirdly, autumn feels more like a restart than any other season. I sip on hot coffee on chilly sunny mornings. I live in jumpers and in boots. Nature turns golden. I interrupt my busy dual work and student life with the holidays. I get inspired in the autumn, in the changing season. I am more willing to take a walk. I am more willing to stop for a while and catch my breath. I start new novels and write more bad poetry. Autumn tends to be one of the busiest seasons, but also productive and reviving. I’m ready for a restart now.

I hope you enjoyed my whitest girl post-to-date. Go and get yourself a pumpkin spice latte.

-Savvy

Leave a comment